Whistler Independent Book Awards

  • Recognizing excellence in Canadian independent publishing
  • Prizes for fiction and non-fiction self-published books
  • Submissions for the 2019 Awards will open March 1, 2019.


Established in 2016 to recognize excellence in Canadian independent publishing, the Whistler Independent Book Awards now offers prizes in two categories: fiction and non-fiction. There are three finalists in each category (fiction and non-fiction), with the winners being announced at the annual Whistler Writers Festival.

Jointly administered by the Whistler Writing Society and Vivalogue Publishing, the Whistler Independent Book Awards (WIBAs) provide independent authors with a unique opportunity to have their work recognized through a juried process typically reserved for trade-published titles.

In supporting independent authors, this competition is unique in that each and every entry receives a valuable, constructive critique of their submission, which can be quoted for publicity and promotional purposes.

WIBA 2018 Finalists

Find out who the finalists are for the 2018 Whistler Independent Book Awards

WIBA 2018 Finalists

WIBA 2018 Shortlist

Eight fiction and six non-fiction titles have been nominated for the 2018 Whistler Independent Book Awards.

WIBA 2018 Shortlist

Join our mailing list

Entries for the 2018 WIBAs are now closed. Join our mailing list for next year's competition.

Join mailing list

Previous Winners

The nominees, finalists and winners of the Whistler Independent Book Awards

WIBA 2017
WIBA 2016


The Whistler Writing Society was founded in 2001 and became a non-profit organization in 2005. Our group includes over 150 members living in the Sea to Sky corridor. From its inception, the group has promoted the literary arts, provided a forum for local writers to develop their craft within the community, and sponsored events such as the Whistler Writers Festival, the Whistler Writer in Residence Program and the Author in Schools Program.

Vivalogue Publishing was established in 2010 with branches in Canada and the United Kingdom. They have provided author services, including editing, design and production, to self-publishing authors. Vivalogue also provides publishing services for non-profits and groups to create fund- and awareness-raising books.

Canadian Authors

The Metro Vancouver chapter of the Canadian Authors Association offers aspiring, emerging, and professional writers opportunities and resources to hone their writing and business skills, network with others, and thrive in a community of like-minded professionals.

Island Blue Printorium Bookworks

Established in 1912, Island Blue Printorium Bookworks is a leading Canadian digital book printer and a proud sponsor of the Whistler Independent Book Awards.