WIBA 2018 Winners

Whistler Independent Book Awards 2018 winners
A Wake for the Dreamland

A Wake for the Dreamland by Laurel Deedrick-Mayne

That Lucky Old Son

That Lucky Old Son by Mark Cote

2018 Winners of the Whistler Independent Book Awards

The winners of the 2018 Whistler Independent Book Awards were announced on Friday at the 17th annual Whistler Writers Festival. Laurel Deedrick-Mayne was named the winner of the fiction award for A Wake for the Dreamland. Named the best non-fiction book was That Lucky Old Son by Mark Cote. The Whistler Independent Book Awards are the only juried awards for self-publishing in Canada, with each nominee being individually assessed by judges from the Canadian Authors Association (Metro Vancouver), and the finalists selected by a distinguished team of judges.

A Wake for the Dreamland is a novel filled with longing, for lost love, for forbidden love and for an innocence lost to the Second World War. Laurel Deedrick-Mayne tenderly evokes the era with rich detail and believable dialogue, bringing history to life in this well researched novel,” said Gail Anderson-Dargatz, one of the finalist fiction judges. JJ Lee, a finalist non-fiction judge described That Lucky Old Son as, “written with verve and just the right amount of lingo to convey the professionalism, precision, and guts it took to do the job.” Sue Oakey Baker of the Whistler Writing Society said, “This is a story rich in history that bravely unveils the desire of a son to find his father.”

Established in 2016 to recognize excellence in Canadian self-publishing, the Whistler Independent Book Awards offers prizes in two categories: fiction and non-fiction. Jointly administered by the Whistler Writing Society and Vivalogue Publishing, the Whistler Independent Book Awards (WIBAs) provide independent authors with a unique opportunity to have their work recognized through a juried process typically reserved for trade-published titles.

Entries for the 2019 WIBAs will open in March 2019. Canadian authors interested in participating should contact Vivalogue Publishing. More information about the Whistler Independent Book Awards can be found here.